Minutes of the Open General Meeting of the BCTCS

BCTCS 35, Durham University, 16 April 2019

Opening: The meeting opened at 1730.

Quorum: The meeting was recognised as quorate, there being present the President, the Secretary, the local organiser of BCTCS 35, and at least ten other members of the BCTCS.

Apologies: Apologies were received from Matthew Hague.

Previous minutes: The minutes of the Open General Meeting held at BCTCS 34 in Royal Holloway were corrected as follows: the last sentence of the section "Election of Additional Representative" should read: "No other nominations were received and Barnaby Martin was duly elected as Additional Representative." With this correction, the minutes were approved.

Matters arising: There were no matters arising that will not already be covered by specific agenda items.

President's report: Faron Moller thanked the local organisers Daniël Paulusma, Barnaby Martin, Matthew Johnson and George Mertzios of the ACiD research group for organising an excellent Colloquium, co-located with an AlgoUK network workshop. Faron also thanked the AlgoUK community for the excellent synergy that this co-location opportunity afforded. Further, he thanked the LMS for supporting the Keynote Speaker in Discrete Mathematics, Maria Chudnovsky. Faron also thanked the two BCTCS invited speakers, Maria Chudnovsky and Ulrich Berger, for agreeing to be keynote speakers. Finally, he thanked the Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research for funding several assisted student places.

Treasurer's report: The following Treasurer's report was received and read out by the Secretary:

The LMS has paid the expenses for last year's speaker (John E. Hopcroft) to the amount of £1,097.76. This does not reach the full amount of the grant as Hopcroft's departing flight was covered by a late-scheduled business trip. £1,400 was received by Royal Holloway from the Heilbronn Institute.

LMS funding had been applied for BCTCS 35 and been awarded to the amount of £1,250 for Maria Chudnovsky. A claim was put in for this amount on 9 April 2019. The Heilbronn Institute agreed an additional £1,400 of funding to be paid to Durham University.

Final accounts for BCTCS 34 had not been received by the time of the meeting and no payments have been made to either Royal Holloway, University of London or St. Andrews, the organisers of BCTCS 34 and BCTCS 33, respectively.

The closing balance of accounts as of the latest statement (3 August 2018) is £16,347.75. There have not been any further transactions.

As of 9 April 2019, Matthew Hague had submitted a transfer of mandate request to Barclay's bank to obtain signatory rights to the BCTCS accounts. This should be processed within 5-10 working days.

Election of President: Faron Moller's three-year term of office had concluded. David Manlove gave a vote of thanks for Faron's contribution on behalf of the Organising Committee. He noted that altogether, Faron served as President for 15 years, making him by far the longest-serving President of the BCTCS. Prior to that he had served as Treasurer for 3 years. Faron was thanked for all of his efforts in liaising with organisations such as EPSRC, the LMS and the Heilbronn Institute to secure funding for BCTCS, and in liaising with the EATCS to ensure that our abstracts are published in its Bulletin. It was noted that Faron had played an important leadership role in acting as an advocate for theoretical computer science in the UK. He had given up his time repeatedly to attend BCTCS meetings each year. On behalf of the Organising Committee, David Manlove presented Faron Moller with a gift to thank him for his many years of service.

The meeting moved on to the election of the next President. Faron Moller nominated Barnaby Martin, and William Pettersson seconded the nomination. Faron commented on Barnaby's stalwart commitment to BCTCS over a number of years. No other nominations were received, and Barnaby Martin was duly elected as President.

Election of Additional Member: Michele Zito's three-year term of office had concluded. Faron thanked him for all of his efforts, in particular in maintaining the UK Theoretical Computer Science mailing list, noting that it had this year been necessary to ensure that the mailing list was made GDPR-compliant. Furthermore, Barnaby Martin's election to President meant that there was a vacancy for a second Additional Member. Michele was nominated for re-election by Ulrich Berger and this was seconded by Barnaby Martin. Ulrich Berger was nominated by Faron Moller and Barnaby Martin seconded the nomination. No other nominations were received, and Michele Zito and Ulrich Berger were duly (re-)elected as Additional Members.

Election of Postgraduate Student Representative: Faron Moller thanked Sofiat Olaosebikan for her contribution over the last year. Karl Southern was nominated by Sofiat Olaosebikan and this was seconded by Jess Enright. No other nominations were received and Karl Southern was duly elected as Postgraduate Student Representative.

Report on arrangements for BCTCS 36: Ulrich Berger reported on the arrangements for hosting BCTCS in Swansea in 2020. He noted that the Colloquium will be held between 6-9 April 2020 and will take place in the new Computer Science building, the Computational Foundry. Ulrich gave an overview of the research topics studied by the Theory Group in Swansea. He also introduced the group members, including current staff, research students and assistants, and famed alumni. He finally noted the proximity of the new Bay Campus to several beautiful beaches!

Choice of host for BCTCS 37: Faron Moller encouraged meeting delegates to consider whether they may like to host BCTCS 37 in 2021, and report back to Barnaby Martin if there are any expressions of interest.

Any other business: There was no other business.

Closing: The meeting closed at 1751.

David Manlove Secretary, BCTCS