Minutes of the Open General Meeting of the BCTCS

BCTCS 31, Middlesex University, 15 September 2015

Opening: The meeting opened at 16:55.

Quorum: The meeting was recognised as quorate, there being present the President, Secretary and Treasurer of the BCTCS, the local organisers for BCTCS 31, and at least ten other members of the BCTCS.

Apologies: None were received.

Previous minutes: The minutes of the Open General Meeting held at BCTCS 30 in Loughborough were approved.

Matters arising: There were no matters arising that will not already be covered by specific agenda items.

President's report: Faron Moller noted that this was the first time in 30 years that the meeting had come to London, due to the difficulty of finding affordable accommodation for delegates. However he felt that the local organisers, Barnaby Martin, Giuseppe Primiero and Rajagopal Nagarajan, had done very well to mitigate this and to attract 55 participants, which was seen as very respectable given the trend in recent years that has seen more modest attendances at BCTCS meetings.

Faron Moller also thanked the Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research at the University of Bristol for supporting 18 studentships that covered registration fees for PhD students. He also conveyed his thanks to the London Mathematical Society (LMS) for supporting the LMS Keynote Lecturer in Discrete Mathematics, which this year was Thomas Hales. He noted that BCTCS had been supported by the LMS in this way for 10 years now.

Ian Pratt-Hartmann was also thanked for the work that he had put into a new BCTCS website. Given time constraints he had to pass on these duties and the website maintenance was taken up by Swansea University. In particular Faron Moller, assisted by Phil James, quickly put together a new Wordpress-based site which has all the same content as before, plus some additional material. Anybody who would like to contribute material to the site is welcome (and indeed encouraged) to do so and should ask Faron for access rights. Thanks were also conveyed to Julian Bradfield for hosting the older website (that preceded the Wordpress version hosted by the University of Manchester) at the University of Edinburgh. David Manlove thanked Faron Moller and Phil James for taking over the website development in March this year.

Faron Moller noted that this year the LMS is celebrating its 150th anniversary and as part of the events being held to mark this milestone they have organised a Computer Science day on 17 September. This one-day event, which BCTCS wraps around, will feature a list of distinguished speakers giving talks on Algorithms and Cryptography. The event will be held at the Royal Society, and 160 participants are expected. The programme is as follows:

1000: Lance Fortnow

1050: Shafi Goldwasser
1140: Tea
1210: Nigel Smart
1300: Lunch
1400: Mike Paterson
1450: Adi Shamir
1540: Tea
1610: Jon Kleinberg
1700: Wine reception

Treasurer's report: Stephan Reiff-Marganiec reported that LMS has paid the expenses for last year's speaker (Jeffrey Shallit) to the full amount of the grant (\pounds 1,250).

 \pounds 1,696.08 has been paid to Loughborough (the expenses for Jeffrey Shallit). This had been invoiced by Loughborough after agreement that this would balance their books. Final accounts from Loughborough were received on 15th August 2014. £87.29 had been paid to finance a dinner with the invited speakers.

The closing balance is $\pounds 14,072.68$.

We have again applied for LMS funding and were successful in being awarded support to the amount of \pounds 1,250 for Professor Thomas Hales. This will be claimed after this year's event.

Election of Additional Member: This vacancy has arisen due to the resignation of Ian Pratt-Hartmann in. March. He was thanked for his contribution over the last two years. Barnaby Martin (Middlesex University) was nominated by David Manlove and seconded by Stephan Reiff-Marganiec No other nominations were received and Barnaby Martin was duly elected as Additional Member.

Election of Postgraduate Student Representative: Faron Moller thanked Pavan Sangha for his contribution over the last year. Bram Geron (University of Birmingham) was proposed by Rajagopal Nagarajan and seconded by Faron Moller. No other nominations were received and Bram Geron was duly elected as Postgraduate Student Representative.

Choice of host for BCTCS 32: Faron Moller reported that BCTCS 32 will be hosted by Queen's University, Belfast from 22-24 March 2016. The local organisers are Peter Robinson, Alan Stewart and Amitabh Trehan of the School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Within the School, particular themes of interest include Hoare logic, concurrency and mobile systems, automata theory, parallel and distributed algorithms, complexity, computational models (BSP, Orc), semantics, formal methods, game theory and types. Invited speakers so far include Michael Butler and Matthew Hennessy. Accommodation will be at Stranmillis College. It was noted that George Best Belfast City Airport is 5 miles away, whilst Belfast International Airport is 20 miles away.

Any other business: There was no other business.

Closing: The meeting closed at 1711.

David Manlove Secretary, BCTCS